Wembley Ware, Jema Holland or fake?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Adrian

Adrian
  • Guests

Posted 28 February 2015 - 10:38 PM

Hi all,

first post for me and new to collecting Wembley Ware. My particular interest is 'fish, marine theme' and I already have a few pieces: large Dhu Fish, Fantail fish, Lobster Plate, Yabbie Plate, Seal Ashtray. I'm interested in a piece on E-Bay now which purports to be a Wembley Ware 'Angel Fish on a Snail Shell'. Even though the listing includes a photo with 'Wembley Ware' inscribed on the base I'm a bit suspicious as I've never seen this piece before as part of the Wembley Ware range - although as I said I'm new to this!

Reason I'm dubious is that I've also seen a Jema Holland 'Angel fish on a Snail Shell' which looks identical in every respect except for the painting/colour scheme. Is it possible Wembley Ware would've copied the Jema Holland piece so exactly?

In fact, both the Wembley Ware(?) and Jema Holland Angel Fish are currently advertised on E-Bay Aust at the same time; for some reason I can't copy/paste the links but hopefully my phot uploads will work.

Would be very interested in any advice anyone can give as the purportedly Wembley Ware Angel Fish starts at $150 - that's a lot for me and the 'kitsch fish itch' is tempting me. However I'm limiting my collection to Australian-made pieces and wouldn't want to buy this if it's not genuine Wembley Ware.

Thanks,

Adrian

Attached Files

#2 Lee

Lee

Forum Moderator

• Administrators
  • 33 posts
  • LocationBrookton

Posted 01 March 2015 - 09:27 AM

Hi Adrian - thanks for the note - yes the Wembley Ware fish on the snail for sale on ebay at

the moment is the genuine goods!!!

The sellers have dealt in Wembley Ware for years and have great knowledge of the Wembley Ware

items.

There is also another fish the same size from the same series but it is on a reef or amongst seaweed.